2 January 2018

Brutha Voodoo’s Playlist Obscura Review of 2017

Chiptune of the Year - “The Bus Stop At The End Of The Universe” by Tonight We Launch

Nerdcore Track of the Year - “Strangers” by Mega Ran

“Stop, Collaborate & Listen” Award for Best Collaboration of The Year - “Tehran 1979” by Brian Reitzell ft Debbie Harry & Shirley Manson

Loss To Music Memorial Award - Chris Cornell
Honourable Mentions - Wayne Cochran, Allan Holdsworth, David Cassidy, Sib Hashian of Boston, Geoff Nicholls of Black Sabbath, Gary DeCarlo of Steam, Della Reese, Kerry Turman of The Temptations, Warren 'Pete' Moore of The Miracles, Malcolm Young of AC/DC, Dik Mik of Hawkwind, Chuck Mosley of Faith No More & Bad Brains, Cel Revuelta of Black Flag, Lil Peep, Peter Sarstedt, Grant Hart of Husker Du, J. Geils, Kevin Garcia of Grandaddy, Jaki Liebezeit of Can, Gregg Allman & Butch Trucks of The Allman Brothers Band, Tom Petty, Walter Becker of Steely Dan, Glen Campbell, Jonghyun of Shinee, Chester Bennington of Linkin Park, Trish Doan of Kittie, Gord Downie of The Tragically Hip, Melissa Bell of Soul II Soul, Dave Rosser of the Afghan Whigs, Keith Mitchell of Mazzy Star, P-Nut of Parliament-Funkadelic, Walter "Junie" Morrison of Funkadelic and the Ohio Players, Pete Overend Watts of Mott the Hoople, Larry Steinbachek of Bronski Beat, Prodigy of Mobb Deep, Robert Miles, Joni Sledge of 'Sister Sledge', Chuck Berry & Fats Domino

Most Welcome Return of The Year - “Dispatch From Mar-a-Lago” by L7
Honourable Mentions - Jamiroquai, Blondie, Depeche Mode, Aimee Mann, The Flaming Lips, DJ Format & MC Abdominal, Immaculate Fools, Dreadzone, Willie Nelson, Goldfrapp, Beth Ditto, The Rasmus, Charlotte Hatherley, At The Drive In, Ani Difranco, Ride, Loreen, The Fall, Alice Cooper, Saint Etienne, Omar, The Wurzels, TLC, Shed  Seven, Gary Numan, Stan Bush, Yusuf (Cat Stevens), Reverend & The Makers, LCD Soundsystem, Bjork, Quicksand, Credit To The Nation, Queens Of The Stone Age, Belly, Saxon, The Wombats

“That’s In Canada” Standout Canadian Act of the Year - “The River (Never Freezes Anymore)” by The Burning Hell

“Straight Outta Scotland" Scottish Hip-Hop Award - “High Rise Highs” by Devil’s Anxiety

Cover Version of The Year - “No Diggity” by Full Fat

“Peer Review” Science Based Song of the Year - “Big Bang” by The Doubleclicks feat Jonathan Coulton (Kevin Morrison)

Craziest Thing To Come Out of Japan Award - “Graduate” by FEMM

Zeitgeist Encapsulating Track of The Year - “Tag Your Mates” by The Serious Adults

Protest Song of The Year - “I Want My Country Back” by She Makes War
Honourable Mentions - “They Cut We Bleed” by Gaptooth, “God Save The Hungry” by Grace Petrie & the PC Brigade & “Bannon” by B Dolan ft Jasiri X & Bambu Depistola

Planet of The Apes award for Rebellious Simian Song of The Year - “Mandrillifesto” by Alan Moore & Joe Brown

Pun Based Band Name of The Year Award - “I Hate Cats” by Depeche Choad
Honourable Mentions - Pulitzer Prize Fighter, Liz Unphair, Dolly Spartans & Half Bam Half Whisky

Best Dinosaur Based Song - “Stegosaurus Stomp” by Dalmatian Rex And The Eigentones

"Brother Bill's Future Flashback Award" for Most Memorable Song of the Year - “Battleshade” by Emily Curtis

Instrumental Soundscape of The Year - “Lady Of The Dunes” by We Are Creosote

“Brand New, You’re Retro” Award for Best Throwback Style - “Ouija” by Graveyard Club

“Shout Yourself Hoarse” RAWK Award - “Van Culture” by Kyle Troop & The Heretics

Best Use of Rock & Roll Swagger - “Ground Control” by Boss Hog

School Project of The Year - “Sausages And Onions” by Radio On

2017 PLAYLIST OBSCURA SONG OF THE YEAR - “Fight, Drink and Watch People Die On TV” by My Name Is Ian
RUNNER UP - “Ladies” by Ortense Blue

Reason To Be Hopeful For 2018 - “Surprise Party” by Charlton Lane

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/playlistobscura
mixcloud: https://www.mixcloud.com/aron-smith/

No comments:

Post a Comment