27 December 2016

Brutha Voodoo's Playlist Obscura Review of 2016

"New Day Raps" by Mega Ran - Chiptune of the Year

 "You Could Be My Baby" by SHEL - Von Trapp Award for Best Family Act of The Year

 “Hey Mr Sunshine” by The Flowerdews - Summer Ska of The Year

 "My Dad Thinks I'm A Vampire" by Dad Fanclub - Short but Perfectly Formed Song of The Year

 “Lazarus” by David Bowie - Loss To Music Memorial Award 
Honourable Mentions - Paul Kantner & Signe Toly Anderson (Jefferson Airplane), Blowfly, Glenn Frey (Eagles), Viola Beach, Jimmy Bain (Rainbow), Maurice White (Earth Wind & Fire), Keith Emerson & Greg Lake (ELP), Phife Dawg (Tribe Called Quest), Aaron Huffman (Harvey Danger), Prince, Nick Menza (Megadeth drummer), Prince Be (PM Dawn), Dave Swarbrick (Fairport Convention), Bernie Worrall (Funkadelic), Alan Vega (Suicide), Pete Burns (Dead or Alive), Bobby Vee, Leonard Cohen, Craig Gill (Inspiral Carpets), Rick Parfitt (Quo) & George Michael

 “Wichita Grey” by Boss Hog - Welcome Return of The Year
“Last Man Alive” by Shakin’ Stevens - Surprising Return of The Year 
Honourable Mentions - My Life Story, Carleen Anderson, Fuzzbox, A Tribe Called Quest, Lordi, Babybird, Yello, The Divine Comedy, The Wedding Present, De La Soul, Funki Porcini, Teenage Fanclub, Death in Vegas, Tiffany, Michael Franti & Spearhead, Trashcan Sinatras, Scarce, Garbage, PJ Harvey, Goldie Lookin Chain, Violent Femmes, They Might Be Giants, Beth Orton, Arrested Development, Lush & Massive Attack

 "Who Are You (feat Didier Kisala)" by Scroobius Pip From the Album The Long Road in aid of the British Red Cross - Charity Release of The Year

 "Do You Wanna Do Nothing With Me" by Lawrence - Feelgood Funky Track of The Year

 "Late Night Sandwich" by ROTU - Food Based Funk of The Year

 “Died Down” by Murdock Swales - Baroque Track of The Year

 "Paper Thin" by She Makes War ft Tanya Donelly - Stop, Collaborate & Listen Award for Best Collaboration of The Year

 "Hate" by Louis Barabbas - Zeitgeist Encapsulating Track of The Year

 “Looked In Too” by Together PANGEA - “Leather Jacket” Award for Best Rawk & Rawl

 "20 Things To Do Before You're 30" by MJ Hibbett & The Validators - Pure Indie Pop of The Year

 "It's A Long Way Home When You Lose" by The Haywains - Sport Based Song of The Year

 "Nonfiction" by The Burning Hell - Literature Based Song of The Year

 "Lipslap" by Kero Kero Bonito - Bubblegum Pop of The Year

 “Valentine Kiss” by Shiori Tomita feat.Ladybeard - Craziest Thing To Come Out of Japan Award

 "Hillbillie Dragqueen Race" by Fury! Gagarin - Pun Based Band Name of The Year Award
Honorable mention to Amy Grindhouse

 "Rats In The Wall" by Blueneck - Post-Rock Masterpiece of The Year

 “Love Please” by Grown Up Avenger Stuff - Smorgasbordgasm Award for Track That Keeps Giving

 "The Muse" by Laurence Made Me Cry - 2016 PLAYLIST OBSCURA SONG OF THE YEAR

 "I Broke Up In Amarante" by Los Campesinos! - Reason To Be Hopeful For 2017 Award

 Didn’t make it onto the show, but worthy of your attention

 “Leeeeeeeroy!” by Phil Harmonix - Nerdcore Track of the Year

 “Derek Acorah” by Zodiac Avalanche - Paranormal Activity Based Song of The Year

 “Hey Heartbreaker” by DREAM WIFE - Retro Chic Pop with Attitude Award

 "Drama" by The Absurd - Best Use of Chugging Guitar of The Year

 “Escape From Big Trouble” by Jailhouse - Cinema Inspired Dance Track of The Year

 “She Was A Question” by August Wells - Rebirth of Cool Award

 "Nessie Moon" by Guitar Wolf - JET ROCK & ROLL OF THE YEAR

“Trick Candles” by The Qualia - Brand New, You’re Retro Award (80’s synth)

No comments:

Post a Comment